If You Read this and Wonder WTF

The thing about most autobiographical nonfiction is that the narrator is rarely alone. There are always other people and because nonfiction is, in theory, based on reality, those other people exist. And so when I wrote “Eve” it was hard for not me to wonder if my ex-boyfriend would every see it or wonder how he would feel about it. The truth is if I think too hard about who or what I’m writing about I probably wouldn’t write it.

But anyways, I’m excited to have this piece published at Nailed magazine and I’m excited that the first thing I published of nonfiction is so damn bold.

3 thoughts on “If You Read this and Wonder WTF

  1. I started to write a memoir of sorts a while back, and while it was easy to write, I found myself wondering whether I really wanted to share those things with the world. In order to show how I got to the point where I am now, I’d have to include some ugly bits, and it’s difficult to think about how it might hurt the people I love most.

    • I know exactly what you mean. But I think if you write the truth, as well as you can, it’s your story to tell and you have a job as a writer to reveal your truth. Not saying I’m very good at that myself.

  2. Impressive. Sometimes I’m afraid to be too honest in my own private journal for fear of what someone whom I wrote about might feel, so I can understand where you’re coming from. Silly, I know.

    I think this piece is incredibly bold. Full of raw emotion and venerability. It made me blush and relax all at the same time.

Leave a Reply

