Thanksgiving Protocol?

I’m going to Idaho for Thanksgiving to spend the holiday with my boyfriend’s mother. We’ve never met. I’d love to tell you that I’m cool, calm, and collected about it, but that would be a very big lie. TJ tells me I have nothing to worry about, but this is the same person who said we should bring blankets and pillows for the trip. It’s a six hour trip. He says we should be prepared for the weather. Okay.

We also disagree on what foods should be present at Thanksgiving and about who should cook. I know that my family is a little different in that we never had a ham for Thanksgiving or Christmas, but I hadn’t realized until I spent the day with other family, and with friends, how Thanksgiving is done differently: From state to state, from region to region and across racial and ethnic lines. I’ve been to potlucks where the hosts provided the turkey. I’ve been to family dinners where only the mother was allowed in the kitchen and I’ve been to dinners where it was all hands on deck.

And what about those side dishes. Is baked macaroni and cheese a black thing or a Southern thing? Is your stuffing homemade or boxed? Does anyone ever use that cranberry sauce shaped like the can it came out of? Does your family say a prayer or does each person say something he/she is thankful for? And what about alcohol? Is it a wine kind of holiday or a cocktail holiday?

I’m getting worked up at all the possibilities!

7 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Protocol?

  1. This year is my first year not being with my family for Thanksgiving. We aren’t always in the same place but I’ve always gone wherever my parents go. This year I’m going to see some of Angel’s family in Tampa.

    I have no idea what to expect. I haven’t even heard of any plans either. I’m just going to go along for the ride!

    I don’t know about the baked mac and cheese thing.. That’s a great question. If prefer just to have some pizza or burgers on Thanksgiving if it was up to me!

  2. I love canned cranberry sauce! Is it bad that cranberry sauce with real cranberries weirds me out? My family always has vegetables pretty plain where as Eddie’s has corn casserole and green bean casserole and sweat potato casserole. Traditions are weird. I don’t know about baked mac-n-cheese, but there’s always shrimp cocktail! ;-D And as far as wine or cocktails go -all booze is good!

  3. Guys, it turned out there were all kinds of protocols I hadn’t even thought of. Such as, where does one sleep? With their partner or in a separate bed? Where does one sit at the table? Next to their partner or across? And what is a good excuse to leave and never come back?

Leave a Reply

